RSS

So what am I?

21 Feb

This is a question that I have pondered many time over the course of the last 18 months or so. Society in general has a need to box people into neat understandable categories and I somehow feel I haven’t yet figured out my box.

I was in another blog site, when an anonymous blogger said that I sounded like a consultant and that s/he had a general distrust for consultants.

Well, I replied that I was not a consultant …..but if I am not a consultant, then what am I?

The great thing about blogs is that you can get the most “in your face” comments. Comments which other wise you would never hear. In a way it helps one improve one self perception. Anyway this was one of those in your face comments that get the wheels in my head spinning.

In responding to that particular blog, I realized that while I didn’t see myself as a consultant, I walked like one and talked like one but wasn’t one.

So what am I? I am a catalyst. Once I am allowed into a client’s place, I go about lighting fires, getting people agitated, getting people to think…..

I am not a consultant because I never give or impose a solution,, I don’t bring in an army of freshly minted wet behind the ears graduates, i don’t write long complicated reports, I don’t do any of that.

What I do is I engage, mano-a-mano, I challenge believes, assumptions, paradigms. I use the clients own data form their own systems to prove or disprove beliefs. I give feedback based on behaviors I see happening and I call on people. There is no hiding, no fence sitting.

After all, the goal is to accelerate business performance , and you can only do that if the organization is energized, buzzing, agitated – with the status quo.

I am a catalyst, but the world still hasn’t created a category for the like of me… yet..

 
2 Comments

Posted by on February 21, 2007 in General

 

2 responses to “So what am I?

  1. Alsaid

    February 22, 2007 at 9:19 pm

    Interesting to read this article, do you know that some of my friends and I are having the same feelings as you are (especially when you are above 40 years old, and you must be above 40). Based on Maslow’s Theory, this category of people falls under self actualization, and that is where we are now. As you know, that self-actualization is the summit of Maslow’s hierarchy of needs. It is when an individual is at his/her quest of reaching one’s full potential as a person. This need is never fully satisfied; as one grows psychologically there are always new opportunities to continue to grow. Self-actualized persons have frequent occurrences of peak experiences, which are energized moments of profound happiness and harmony. According to Maslow, only a small percentage of the population reaches the level of self-actualization, and just imagine we are there, what a privilege.

    What am I? The answer must come from you. Every human being is unique and nobody in this world knows everything, that’s why we need to continuously learn and develop oneself all the time.

    All my life I had been looking for something, and everywhere I turned someone tried to tell me what it was. I accepted their answers too, though they were often in contradiction and even self-contradictory. I was naïve. I was looking for myself and asking everyone except myself questions which I, and only I, could answer. It took me a long time and much painful boomeranging of my expectations to achieve a realization everyone else appears to have been born with: that I am nobody but myself. ~Ralph Ellison, “Battle Royal

     
  2. whome

    February 22, 2007 at 10:54 pm

    Alsaid, your paragraph refers:

    “What am I? The answer must come from you. Every human being is unique and nobody in this world knows everything, that’s why we need to continuously learn and develop oneself all the time.”

    That is why the first revelation from Allah SWT to the Prophet Muhammad SAW is sura Al Alaq- Read in the name of thy Lord!

     

Leave a Reply

 
