RSS

Seeing what most people don’t get to see

16 Mar

Today was an eye opener for me. It was “parents meet kids” day at my kids school. This is the day where parents are invited to school and get to participate in classroom activites with their children while getting to meet the teachers, other parents and children.

My wife and I were early by about 10 minutes. We stood outside our daughter’s class, and one by one kids started to come up and ask,”uncle, did you see if my mum / dad was coming”, “can you see them” … Basically all of the children were being so hopeful to see a parent, if not both show up. Of course only a handful of parents made it for what ever the reasons may be.

What really startled me, and it is something I had never realized before, was as we took our places in class, there were kids who were still looking out the door hoping their parents would show up. One kid started crying, a girl came up to me and asked if I could be with her….. It was unbelievable.

After seeing  the impact, of not being there,  on the children today, it has now become a number one priority. Often times in our busy-ness we expect out kids to understand why we can’t make time for them, but we never understand how our kids feel feel when we don’t make the time.

What is even sadder is that the children will probably never share how they feel because when they open up to us we probably sush them up with our “so busy” story.

I share this today to encourage all of us to take time and look at the world through the eyes of our children and to listen to them and to hear them. And when we do that, it will bring a complete new meaning to parenting.

 
5 Comments

Posted by on March 16, 2007 in General

 

5 responses to “Seeing what most people don’t get to see

  1. Kapt J Archer

    March 17, 2007 at 1:28 pm

    How old were these kids? Actually I can understand coz every prizegiving day my parents could never make in primary school.

     
  2. mindspring

    March 18, 2007 at 7:52 am

    Kapt Archer, they were all about 7 yrs old….

    Would you mind sharing a bit more on how you felt when your parents didn’t show up?

    Over time, did you end up making assumptions about your parents?

     
  3. Jassi

    March 19, 2007 at 11:45 am

    Do you think people do not see what you saw or people do not waht to see what you saw?

    Maybe we have justify subscontracting of our responsibility to the extend we killed our conscience in pursuit success. We dwell so much in material wealth till we forgot the real meaning of life.We measure success by the strings of “A” our children get ,we forget the things that we cannot be seen and measured ,like love, sharing ,giving and service.,issue that builds the character.

    The painful part as saying goes “monkey see,monkey do”,Can you imagine the parenting styles pass on to our children- either total outsource or “better do not have children .It’s already evident as reported in NST headlines
    50% in 2006 decline in marriages compared 2005.

    The reason , we painted life in theses children minds as so undesirable and unattractive that sucess is all about $$$. The cost will be our extinction and the blame no other than I ,me and myself.

     
  4. Alsaid

    March 20, 2007 at 12:17 am

    I remember……..as a child, I am overwhelmed and joy as my parents attended to my school concert where I played a small role in a drama as a palace guard and have to say just one line…”Ya…tuanku”. I realized that I am proud and happy because my parents came to see me….and I felt loved.
    Material things blurred and confused us to realize what is our priority and what is important in a life. You can buy everything….BUT you cannot buy the love of your children.

    “The best inheritance a parent can give his children is a few minutes of his time each day.”- Orlando A. Battista

     
  5. Shaki

    March 21, 2007 at 4:06 am

    Kudos to you for your wonderful blog. Your mind certainly springs with great ideas🙂. This particular post touched me deeply. It almost brought me down to my knees in guilt. There were a few times when I failed to make it to my daughter’s hockey matches because I had deadlines to meet. And meeting deadlines is what that put food on the table. After reading your post, I will make sure I make it to her next hockey match!! Thanks for the eye opener bro!

     

Leave a Reply

 
